The 1st Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me

three monthsOn June 26, 1992 – after enjoying a lovely dinner with my BFF (Sandi) and her hubby (Humberto) – I began to experience excruciating abdominal pain, right behind my bellybutton. As the evening progressed and the pain worsened, Sandi decided it was time to go to the hospital. She called a cab and off we went to St. Joseph’s Hospital in Toronto. It was early on a Friday evening so the ER was on the quiet side, it didn’t take long to see a doc. Apparently my symptoms presented as appendicitis and they ran a number of tests to determine if that was the problem, but to no avail. I no longer recall the exact number of of male doctors who presented themselves for a “look-see” but it wasn’t until a female doc arrived and asked a very pointed question that we actually made some headway.

She said, “Is there any possibility that you could be pregnant?” About an hour later the doc came back to report that I was, in deed, preggers. I was extatic! But hold Steven's first Christmasyour horses, said the doc, you’re pregnant with pain. Let’s keep you overnight, run some more tests and see if anything funky is going on (I’m paraphrasing, of course). More blood tests and an ultrasound revealed that it was too early in the pregnancy to reveal anything. In the morning, they let me go home with the proviso that I go see my family doc and schedule another ultrasound in three weeks.

Everything turned out A-OK and On March 1, 1993 at 5:45PM, my beautiful blue-eyed baby boy – Steven William – was born. I won’t get into all the gory details of the actual delivery, but let me say this, had I not been frozen from the waist down, those salad tongs would have been REALLY uncomfortable.

Words cannot express the utter joy and pride I feel for both of my boys; but today’s post is dedicated to my first born.

Long hairSteven, before I met you, I never imagined the magnitude of love a person could feel for another. The moment I first laid eyes on you it hit me like a tonne of bricks. I was overwhelmed with love. Just thinking about the day you were born brings me to tears.

21 years have gone by in dizzying flash. That skinny little boy who ate like a horse but never gained an ounce has grown into an amazing young man… and quite handsome too. Your kindness and compassion for others leaves me bursting with pride. Your honesty and integrity are virtuous; keep these with you always for they will make you a great man.

I don’t think there’s anything I have left to teach you.  You’re about to leave the nest for good and move far away and as sad as I am that you’re going, know that I’m so Blue Mountainproud of you for all that you have accomplished.  I know there is much greatness in store for you.  Always remember in life, do what you love so you’ll love what you do.  I would like to leave you with some words from the great Dr. Seuss (yes, he’s still important, even today) – this isn’t the entire poem, just the first third.

Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes
You can steer yourself
any direction you choose.
You’re on your own.  And you know what you know.
And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where to go.

You’ll look up and down streets.  Look ’em over with care.
About some you will say, “I don’t choose to go there.”
With your head full of brains and your shoes full of feet,
you’re too smart to go down any not-so-good street.

And you may not find any
you’ll want to go down.
In that case, of course,
you’ll head straight out of town.

It’s opener there
in the wide open air.

Out there things can happen
and frequently do
to people as brainy
and footsy as you.

And when things start to happen,
don’t worry.  Don’t stew.
Just go right along.
You’ll start happening too.

OH!
THE PLACES YOU’LL GO!

Happy Birthday to you, my beautiful boy.

No matter where you go or how far away you are, you’ll always be my little Stever.

jays game

Leave a Reply

